Fire and Explosion Analysis

Michael D. Pratt, P.E.
Principal & Director of Fire and Explosions
Phone: (980) 221-8111
mdpratt@engsys.com

View Capability Sheet

The Fire, Process and Electrical Practice of ESI provides clients with Professional Engineers (P.E.), investigators, and technical support experienced in the origin and cause of fire and explosion incidents. Our highly qualified professionals include mechanical, electrical, civil, structural, and chemical engineers, as well as fire investigators. We can be readily deployed for on-site investigations and inspections, documentation, and fact gathering, and can also collect and store critical evidence.

Our personnel are strategically located throughout the United States, thereby allowing rapid deployment to a fire/explosion scene most anywhere, domestically or internationally.

We are experienced in early involvement and can advise on securing loss sites, preservation of evidence and records, and working with public officials and investigators when jurisdictional issues arise. Our team utilizes the latest technology to document any scene by photograph, video, optical survey, and/or digital imaging.

Courts recognize the NFPA 921 Guide for Fire and Explosion Investigations as being authoritative; hence, the group applies the Scientific Method and the principles of NFPA 921, with group reports and opinions being peer-reviewed. ESI is a technically integrated organization, with the disciplines and tools necessary to answer client questions, able to support our findings and opinions in a court of law when necessary. We are comprised of Professional Engineers and Certified Fire/Explosion Investigators that have testified as experts in both state and federal courts.

ESI has multiple facilities with the capability of storing evidence and hosting multi-party evidence exams. These facilities are well equipped with well lit inspection areas and documentation tools such as digital stereomicroscopes and Scanning Electron Microscopes (SEMs), outfitted with Energy Dispersive Spectroscopy (EDS) capability and other such tools.

A few applicable areas our fire investigation team has experience are:

  • Hazardous Materials
  • Accident Reconstruction
  • Chemical Plants
  • Pipelines
  • Storage Tanks
  • Equipment Failure
  • Fire Deaths and Injuries
  • Sprinkler Systems
  • Carbon Monoxide
  • Codes and Regulations
  • Computer Modeling/Animation
  • CAD
  • Fuel Gases
  • Appliances
  • Process Equipment
  • Scenario Replication
  • Dispersion Modeling
  • Fire Modeling

Professionals in This Area

Name

 

Title

 

Email

 

Location(s)

Babcock, Jason R., Ph.D.   Senior Consultant   jrbabcock@engsys.com  

Illinois

Bajzek, Thomas J., P.E., CFEI   Principal & Director of Electrical Engineering   tjbajzek@engsys.com  

Illinois

Baron, Richard P., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant & Manager of Dallas Operations   rpbaron@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Barovsky, Douglas J., P.E., CFEI   Senior Consultant   djbarovsky@engsys.com  

Washington

Bigelow, Clifford C., P.E., CFEI   Senior Consultant & Manager of Missouri Operations   cbigelow@engsys.com  

Missouri

Bilancia, Louis F., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   lfbilancia@engsys.com  

Oregon

Craddock, J. Roger, P.E.   Principal   roger@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Craddock, Michael B., CFI   Senior Consultant   michael@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Davis, Gregory T.   Senior Managing Consultant & Director of Marine Practice Group   gtdavis@engsys.com  

Illinois

Fitz, Michael M., P.E., CFEI, CFII, CFPS   Senior Managing Consultant   mmfitz@engsys.com  

Washington

Hanks, Michael L., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   mlhanks@engsys.com  

Florida, Georgia

Holmes, Edward W., P.E.   Principal Emeritus, Co-Founder   ewholmes@engsys.com  

Illinois

Johnson, Tim R., P.E.   Senior Consultant   trjohnson@engsys.com  

Illinois

Jordan, Jonathan G., P.E., CFEI   Senior Consultant   jgjordan@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Klosinski, Krista B., MSME, MScFS, CFEI   Staff Consultant   kbklosinski@engsys.com  

Colorado

Locker, Douglas M., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   dmlocker@engsys.com  

Georgia

Lorenzo, Fernando, Ph.D., P.E.   Principal   fernando@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Mann, Dale C.   Senior Managing Consultant   dcmann@engsys.com  

Washington

Marciniak, James G., P.E., CFEI, LEED Green Associate   Senior Consultant   jgmarciniak@engsys.com  

Illinois

Mitolo, Massimo A., Ph.D., P.E., P.Eng.   Senior Consultant   mamitolo@engsys.com  

California

Pape, Ronald, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI   Senior Managing Consultant   rpape@engsys.com  

Illinois

Porto, Christopher, P.E., CFEI   Staff Consultant   cjporto@engsys.com  

Georgia

Pratt, Michael D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Fire and Explosions   mdpratt@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Gray, Amy E., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   aegray@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Scardino, Dennis J., P.E., CFI, CFEI, CFII, CVFI   Senior Managing Consultant and Manager of Houston Operations   dscardino@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Schoenecker, Michael V., CVFI, CFEI   Senior Technologist   mvschoenecker@engsys.com  

Washington

Verlaan, Derrek-Ian G., BS, CFEI   Staff Consultant   dgverlaan@engsys.com  

Florida

Wilson, David A., CFEI, CVFI, FIT   Staff Consultant   dawilson@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Zeamer, Aaron R., CFEI, CFII, CVFI   Senior Technologist   arzeamer@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)