Electrical System Failures and Testing

Thomas J. Bajzek, P.E., CFEI
Principal & Director of Electrical Engineering
Phone: (630) 851-4566
tjbajzek@engsys.com

View Capability Sheet

The Electrical Practice Group at ESI has extensive experience investigating electrical equipment failures. The group consists of Professional Engineers (P.E.), engineers, and trained technicians with specific industry experience, as well as advanced electrical engineering degrees, enhanced by corollary areas of certification as it relates to significant portions of the investigative field (e.g., CFI, CFEI, etc.).

ESI has experience ranging from the large-scale electrical power generation and distribution equipment, to such products as kitchen toasters, and covers such areas as industrial machines and equipment, consumer electronics, appliances, tools, medical devices, and all types of transportation elements, ranging from commercial/industrial and passenger (land, air, water) vehicles, to the more basic elevators and other people/product movers.  

Our engineers have extensive experience with inspecting and documenting fire and explosion scenes, electric shock and electrocution incidents, equipment failures, and examining evidence in our laboratory facilities conveniently located throughout the U.S.

Some areas of expertise include:

  • Power Systems
  • Transformers
  • Switchgears
  • Insulators
  • Overcurrent Protection
  • Grounding
  • Medical Devices
  • Electronics
  • Software Engineering
  • Data Acquisition Systems
  • Communications Equipment
  • Safety Interlocks
  • Electrical and Electronic Systems
  • Plant Controls
  • Electrical Fires, Shocks, and Stray Currents
  • Electromagnetic Compatibility
  • Electric Safety, Guarding, and Labeling Issues
  • Patent Infringement and Warranty Disputes

Professionals in This Area

Name

 

Title

 

Email

 

Location(s)

Babcock, Jason R., Ph.D.   Senior Consultant   jrbabcock@engsys.com  

Illinois

Bajzek, Thomas J., P.E., CFEI   Principal & Director of Electrical Engineering   tjbajzek@engsys.com  

Illinois

Baron, Richard P., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant & Manager of Dallas Operations   rpbaron@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Barovsky, Douglas J., P.E., CFEI   Senior Consultant   djbarovsky@engsys.com  

Washington

Bilancia, Louis F., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   lfbilancia@engsys.com  

Oregon

Cameron, Kimberly K., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   kkcameron@engsys.com  

California

Ernst, Gary (Mike) M.   Senior Technologist   gmernst@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Johnson, Tim R., P.E.   Senior Consultant   trjohnson@engsys.com  

Illinois

Jordan, Jonathan G., P.E., CFEI   Senior Consultant   jgjordan@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Marsh, Laban M.   Staff Consultant   lmmarsh@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Mitolo, Massimo A., Ph.D., P.E., P.Eng.   Senior Consultant   mamitolo@engsys.com  

California

Smolka, James C., M.S., P.E., CFEI   Senior Staff Consultant   jcsmolka@engsys.com  

North Carolina