Civil and Structural Engineering

Chad R. Fischer, Ph.D., P.E., S.E.
Principal & Director of Civil, Structural, and Environmental Engineering
Phone: (630) 851-4566
crfischer@engsys.com

Civil & Structural Engineering
View Capability Sheet
Building Sciences
View Capability Sheet

The senior engineers of the ESI Civil/Structural Practice Group average over 25 years experience, and are well-versed in all aspects of the practice area. These engineers have extensive investigative experience in structural, geotechnical, wastewater distribution, storm water management, materials, construction site safety, and code compliance related issues.

Specialties include large loss investigations involving commercial multi-story buildings, transmission towers, silos, storage tanks, and both rail and roadway bridges. Additionally, engineers with OSHA Trainer Certification in construction are on staff to provide expertise in workplace safety investigations. With this experience at hand, ESI is effectively able to provide data and analysis for cases involving commercial property loss, construction defects for both residential and commercial properties, as well as workplace safety.

The Civil/Structural Practice Group of ESI has been involved in high-profile and large monetary loss cases. A few examples include the Miller Park crane collapse (Milwaukee 1999), WilTel office building façade collapse (Tulsa 2005), the Super Dome, and the New Orleans Saints training facility hurricane damage (Hurricane Katrina 2005). These losses ranged from $18M to over $100M.

The Environmental Practice Group, within the Civil/Structural Practice Group, evaluates situations including chemical issues, fires, explosions, and floods. Exposure mechanisms, environmental impacts, concentration and dispersion characteristics associated with physical, chemical, and biological hazards are evaluated and assessed to provide answers and formulate solutions for an array of issues. Our staff is trained in understanding such areas as the Exposure Sources (e.g., chemical, biological, mineral), Exposure Media (e.g., air, water, soil), and Exposure Routes (e.g., inhalation, ingestion, dermal contact), as a starting point for all environmental issues. The group is also well versed in all the direct and indirect industry standards and governing organizations, such as ASTM, OSHA, CFR, API, NFPA, NADCA, ACGIH, etc., and is at the forefront of all emerging issues (such as the Chinese Drywall issue).

Professionals in This Area

Name

 

Title

 

Email

 

Location(s)

Abubakar, Nila, P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   nabubakar@engsys.com  

Georgia

Ahearn, David L., P.E.   Senior Consultant   dlahearn@engsys.com  

Georgia

Bernhardt, Randall, M.S., P.E., S.E.   Senior Consultant   rpbernhardt@engsys.com  

Missouri

Cydzik, Kristina, P.E., LEED AP   Senior Consultant   kcydzik@engsys.com  

California

Domel, August W., Ph.D., P.E., S.E.   Principal   awdomel@engsys.com  

Illinois

Evans, Susan L., CIH, CSP, P.E.   Senior Consultant   slevans@engsys.com  

Washington

Faupel, Steven J., E.I.   Staff Consultant   sjfaupel@engsys.com  

Florida

Fischer, Chad R., Ph.D., P.E., S.E.   Principal & Director of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering   crfischer@engsys.com  

Illinois

Godoy, Francisco J., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   fjgodoy@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Johnson, Andrew W., P.E.   Senior Consultant   awjohnson@engsys.com  

Florida

Kenney, Robert, P.E.   Principal   rnkenney@engsys.com  

Georgia

Kercsmar, Christopher C., P.E., LEED A.P.   Senior Consultant   cckercsmar@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Locker, Douglas M., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   dmlocker@engsys.com  

Georgia

Mesyef, Kevin K., P.E., S.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   kkmesyef@engsys.com  

Illinois

Nordstrom, Mark G., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   mgnordstrom@engsys.com  

Washington

Plichta, Robert A., AIA, NCARB, CPP   Senior Consultant/Forensic Architect   raplichta@engsys.com  

Illinois

Riddle, Joseph K.   Senior Staff Consultant   jkriddle@engsys.com  

Illinois

Tuczak, Edward J., M.S.E., P.E.   Senior Consultant   ejtuczak@engsys.com  

Michigan

Turner, Daniel J.   Senior Staff Consultant   djturner@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Underwood, Mel A., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   maunderwood@engsys.com  

Florida