Biomechanics and Human Factors Analysis

Erick H. Knox, Ph.D., P.E.
Principal & Director of Biomechanical & Safety Engineering
Phone: (630) 851-4566
ehknox@engsys.com

Biomechanical Accident Reconstruction
View Capability Sheet
Biomechanical Engineering
View Capability Sheet

The ESI Biomechanical Practice Group members have conducted investigations pertaining to the mechanism and causation of injury in the transportation (aeronautical, automotive, railroad/train), consumer product, industrial, construction, agricultural, marine, and recreational industries. Analyses have encompassed the interaction of people with their environment, and injuries to many aspects of the human body, including the head, neck, lower back, upper/lower extremities, and torso.

One of our additional strengths is a deep understanding of the claims and litigation process and the ability to provide clear answers in an efficient, timely manner, and to provide expert testimony when necessary. We are routinely involved in projects where the monetary loss or exposure is seven or eight figures.

We have over 30,000 square feet of state-of-the-art laboratory facilities and test equipment strategically located throughout the U.S. (as well as access to other facilities as needed) that allow us to evaluate and test anything from small scale to large scale. Several of our personnel are on various industry standards committees and subcommittees, chairing some of the more prominent ones. Our staff is also well published, and frequently present at various industry and trade organization functions.

Our Biomechanical team utilizes specialized testing, photographic and video analysis, computer graphics, simulations, animations, and literary research in the investigation and reconstruction of accidents.

Areas of specialization include:

  • Accident Investigation and Reconstruction
    • Crashworthiness
    • Human Factors and Ergonomics
    • Mechanical Testing and Failure Analysis
    • Biomedical Instrumentation
  • Bioelectrical Shock
  • Human Motion Analysis
  • Human Kinetic (Force) Analysis
  • Human Performance
  • Product Hazard Analysis
  • Injury Causation/Mechanisms
  • Occupant Kinematics

Professionals in This Area

Name

 

Title

 

Email

 

Location(s)

Auflick, Jack L., Ph.D.   Senior Consultant   jlauflick@engsys.com  

Michigan

Bonanti, Christopher J., M.Eng   Senior Managing Consultant   cjbonanti@engsys.com  

District of Columbia

Breen, Casey   Senior Staff Consultant   cdbreen@engsys.com  

Florida

Breen, Kevin C., P.E.   Principal & Director of Marine & Automotive Research   kevinbreen@engsys.com  

Florida

Brickman, Dennis B., P.E.   Principal   dbbrickman@engsys.com  

Illinois

Fortenbaugh, Dave, Ph.D.   Staff Consultant   dmfortenbaugh@engsys.com  

Florida

Garber, Mitchell A., M.D., M.P.H., M.S.M.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   magarber@engsys.com  

Georgia

Hughes, Kathryn G., M.D., M.P.H., DAvMed   Consultant   kghughes@engsys.com  

Georgia

Karosas, George V., P.E., CSP   Senior Consultant   gvkarosas@engsys.com  

Illinois

Knox, Erick H., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Biomechanical & Safety Engineering   ehknox@engsys.com  

Illinois

Mathias, Anne, P.E.   Senior Consultant   acmathias@engsys.com  

Illinois

Meza-Arroyo, Manuel, Ph.D., AHFP   Staff Consultant   mmeza@engsys.com  

Michigan

Shibata, Peggy A., P.E.   Senior Consultant   pashibata@engsys.com  

Michigan

Sprague, James K., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Manager of Michigan Operations   jksprague@engsys.com  

Michigan

Stern, Amber Rath, Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   arstern@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Van Bree, Michael P.   Senior Consultant   mpvanbree@engsys.com  

Illinois

van Poppel, Jon, P.E.   Senior Consultant   javanpoppel@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)