Construction Defects

Robert A. Plichta, AIA, NCARB, CPP
Senior Consultant/Forensic Architect
Phone: (630) 851-4566
raplichta@engsys.com

 View Capability Sheet

The design, construction, and maintenance of a building and its numerous systems and components require a sophisticated orchestration of professionals, tradesmen, and managers.  New technologies, materials, accelerated project delivery schedules, and a changing regulatory environment can also prove challenging to the design, construction, or maintenance process and the quality of the work performed.  The introduction of defects during any of these stages can lead to emotional and financial distress, catastrophic system failures, injury, or even loss of life.

Industry has categorized defects into three major areas.  Within each of these categories, exposure can exist to a gamut of individuals and companies:

  • Design Defects
  • Construction Defects
  • Material Defects

Design Defects covers a wide array of participants and the application of their services.  Defects can range from an improper design, non-compliance with the municipal codes and ordinances, errors and omissions by design professionals, or improperly specified products and materials.  Individuals and companies who may have exposure in this area of defects could include the architect, engineer, designer, or property owner.

Construction Defects is the largest area where the opportunities for defects typically occur.  These defects can be associated with the site environment, the building envelope, or the internal systems and features of the building.  Defects can include:

  • Poor workmanship
  • Lack of on-site supervision
  • Failure to comply with codes and ordinances
  • Failure to meet industry standard-of-care
  • Improper component or system installations
  • Non-conformance with construction document designs and specifications

Individuals and companies who may have exposure in this area of defects could include the developer, the contractor/builder, the numerous subcontractors, architects, engineers, project managers, and owners.

Material Defects originate at the manufacturer’s level.  The exposure of the manufacturer can fall into several areas that include product design, material selection, material quality, fabrication and manufacturing processes, product application, and installation procedures.  It has also been found that the materials defects also overlap with construction defects in that a product may have technical or material flaws, it may be installed improperly, or it may be the wrong application of the product.  At any of these levels, some form of investigation, analysis, and testing must be performed in order to ascertain the manufacturer’s exposure.

Areas of Specialization

Clients who come to ESI recognize that the breadth of our organization provides the expertise that encompasses the entire Construction Defects market.  With the qualifications to assess your needs, ESI can organize either the individual expert or a team of experts to assist in the investigation, perform scientific analysis, identify cause and origin, provide representation in litigation matters, and more.

Capabilities Include

  • 3D Laser Scanning and Scene Preservation
  • Applied Mechanics
  • Biomechanics and Human Factors
  • Civil/Structural Engineering
  • Computed Tomography (CT)
  • Electrical System Failures and Testing
  • Environmental and Air Quality
  • Fire and Explosion Analysis
  • Forensic Architecture
  • Graphics and Visualization
  • Laboratory and Industrial Services
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Mechanics and Materials
  • Polymers and Composites
  • Safety Assessments and Risk Analysis

Professionals in This Area

Name

 

Title

 

Email

 

Location(s)

Abubakar, Nila, P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   nabubakar@engsys.com  

Georgia

Ahearn, David L., P.E.   Senior Consultant   dlahearn@engsys.com  

Georgia

Bernhardt, Randall, M.S., P.E., S.E.   Senior Consultant   rpbernhardt@engsys.com  

Missouri

Cydzik, Kristina, P.E., LEED AP   Senior Consultant   kcydzik@engsys.com  

California

Domel, August W., Ph.D., J.D., P.E., S.E.   Principal   awdomel@engsys.com  

Illinois

Faupel, Steven J., E.I.   Staff Consultant   sjfaupel@engsys.com  

Florida

Fischer, Chad R., Ph.D., P.E., S.E.   Principal & Director of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering   crfischer@engsys.com  

Illinois

Godoy, Francisco J., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   fjgodoy@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Hamilton, Douglas L., P.E., D.WRE.   Senior Managing Consultant & Director of Water Engineering & Strategies   dlhamilton@engsys.com  

California

Johnson, Andrew W., P.E.   Senior Consultant   awjohnson@engsys.com  

Florida

Kenney, Robert, P.E.   Principal   rnkenney@engsys.com  

Georgia

Kercsmar, Christopher C., P.E., LEED A.P.   Senior Consultant   cckercsmar@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Locker, Douglas M., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   dmlocker@engsys.com  

Georgia

Mesyef, Kevin K., P.E., S.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   kkmesyef@engsys.com  

Illinois

Nordstrom, Mark G., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   mgnordstrom@engsys.com  

Washington

Plichta, Robert A., AIA, NCARB, CPP   Senior Consultant/Forensic Architect   raplichta@engsys.com  

Illinois

Riddle, Joseph K.   Senior Staff Consultant   jkriddle@engsys.com  

Illinois

Tuczak, Edward J., M.S.E., P.E.   Senior Consultant   ejtuczak@engsys.com  

Michigan

Underwood, Mel A., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   maunderwood@engsys.com  

Florida