Mechanical Engineering

Kenneth M. Smith, P.E.
Senior Managing Consultant
Phone: (630) 851-4566
kmsmith@engsys.com

View Capability Sheet

The Mechanical Engineering group at ESI has worked on projects in which clients are either in the process of developing a product or confronted with alleged failures or accidents and in need of an independent engineering investigation. The group has extensive experience in the analysis, investigation, and testing of machinery, mechanical systems, consumer products, industrial equipment, manufacturing equipment, and power conversion equipment. The professional staff of the Mechanical Engineering group has serviced the following industry sectors:

  • Rail
  • Automotive
  • Aerospace
  • Recreation
  • Utilities
  • Oil and Gas
  • Extractive
  • Chemical Process
  • Manufacturing
  • Consumer Goods

The group is comprised of experienced, licensed professional engineers, who hold advanced engineering degrees with specialized training in the fields of mechanical engineering, solid mechanics, fluid mechanics, dynamics, vibration, thermal analysis, advanced stress analysis, fracture mechanics, dispersion analysis, explosion analysis, and failure analysis. Members of this group design engineering test programs and are able to utilize advanced analytical techniques, field test equipment, and engineering simulations to provide clients with thoroughly documented analyses on their most challenging and sensitive issues.

The group is well equipped to perform engineering design reviews, design support, risk assessments, failure mode and effect analysis (FMEA), consumer product recall support investigations, fire and explosion investigations, and failure investigations for a wide variety of clients. In these investigations we are capable of addressing issues related to reliability, durability, loading conditions, equipment usage, maintenance practices, and control.

Many of these activities can be performed in ESI’s in-house mechanics laboratory where our professional staff can explore a device’s functionality, thermal and vibratory signature, and material characteristics. Frequently, members of this group collaborate with other ESI professionals to provide clients with the most cost effective engineering solutions to their multidisciplinary challenges.

Selected Areas of Expertise

  • Machinery components - bearings, roller elements, clutches, brakes, gears, power trains, shafts, gaskets, springs, dampers, bolts, and fasteners
  • Motors and engines
  • Gearboxes
  • Boilers
  • Heavy construction equipment
  • Process machinery - power presses, conveyors, winders, cutters, mixers, and rollers
  • Electromechanical control equipment
  • Electric motors
  • Hydraulic power equipment
  • Compressed air equipment
  • Hydro generators
  • Power piping
  • Pressure vessels
  • Valves
  • Hazardous liquid and gas pipelines
  • Manufacturing lines
  • Mechanical HVAC equipment
  • Wind turbines
  • Turbo machinery - steam turbines, gas turbines, gas compressors, fans, and centrifugal pumps

Professionals in This Area

Name

 

Title

 

Email

 

Location(s)

Afshan, Shireen, Ph.D.   Staff Consultant   safshan@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Bailey, Robert E., M.S., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   rebailey@engsys.com  

Colorado

Baughn, James W., Ph.D., P.E., ATP   Consultant   rcwinn@engsys.com  

Colorado

Bedsworth, Kevin D.   Senior Managing Consultant   kdbedsworth@engsys.com  

Florida

Bigelow, Clifford C., P.E., CFEI   Senior Consultant & Manager of Missouri Operations   cbigelow@engsys.com  

Missouri

Bouldin, Peter C.   Senior Staff Consultant   pcbouldin@engsys.com  

Illinois

Breen, Casey   Senior Staff Consultant   cdbreen@engsys.com  

Florida

Breen, Kevin C., P.E.   Principal & Director of Marine & Automotive Research   kevinbreen@engsys.com  

Florida

Brickman, Dennis B., P.E.   Principal   dbbrickman@engsys.com  

Illinois

Butler, Robert, Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Commercial Vehicles   rjbutler@engsys.com  

Colorado

Cameron, Kimberly K., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   kkcameron@engsys.com  

California

Craddock, J. Roger, P.E.   Principal   roger@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Daum, Philip J., P.E.   Principal   pjdaum@engsys.com  

Illinois

Fitz, Michael M., P.E., CFEI, CFII, CFPS   Senior Managing Consultant   mmfitz@engsys.com  

Washington

Giesa, Ashley M., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   amgiesa@engsys.com  

Washington

Godoy, Francisco J., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   fjgodoy@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Grzetic, Joseph F.   Senior Staff Consultant & Facilities Manager   jfgrzetic@engsys.com  

Illinois

Hassebrock, Joel D.   Associate Staff Consultant   jdhassebrock@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Hayes, Michael D., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   mdhayes@engsys.com  

Georgia

Iwand, Hans C., P.E.   Principal   hciwand@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Kenner, Matthew T., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   mtkenner@engsys.com  

Georgia

Klosinski, Krista B., MSME, MScFS, CFEI   Staff Consultant   kbklosinski@engsys.com  

Colorado

Knox, Erick H., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Biomechanical & Safety Engineering   ehknox@engsys.com  

Illinois

Kohlman, David, Ph.D., P.E.   Principal Emeritus   dlkohlman@engsys.com  

Colorado

Krupa, Jennifer L.   Staff Consultant   jlkrupa@engsys.com  

Florida

Kuehn, Jeffrey W., P.E.   Senior Consultant   jwkuehn@engsys.com  

Missouri

Lewis, Mark A., M.E., P.E.   Senior Consultant   malewis@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Locker, Douglas M., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   dmlocker@engsys.com  

Georgia

Lorenzo, Fernando, Ph.D., P.E.   Principal   fernando@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Manuel, Emmanuel J.   Staff Consultant   ejmanuel@engsys.com  

Illinois

Marciniak, James G., P.E., CFEI, LEED Green Associate   Senior Consultant   jgmarciniak@engsys.com  

Illinois

Mathias, Anne, P.E.   Senior Consultant   acmathias@engsys.com  

Illinois

McGillicuddy, Jared S.   Staff Consultant   jsmcgillicuddy@engsys.com  

Florida

Miller, Aaron D., MSC, P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   admiller@engsys.com  

Florida

Morris, Steven L., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant & Manager of Colorado Operations   slmorris@engsys.com  

Colorado

Novak, Gary J., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   gjnovak@engsys.com  

Illinois

Pape, Ronald, Ph.D., P.E., CFEI   Senior Managing Consultant   rpape@engsys.com  

Illinois

Pettinger, Alfred M., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Mechanics   ampettinger@engsys.com  

California

Porto, Christopher, P.E., CFEI   Staff Consultant   cjporto@engsys.com  

Georgia

Pratt, Michael D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Fire and Explosions   mdpratt@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Gray, Amy E., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   aegray@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Roberts, Julius M.   Senior Staff Consultant   jmroberts@engsys.com  

Michigan

Rogers, Gary R., P.E.   Principal & Manager of North Carolina Operations   grrogers@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Rogers, Joshua C.   Staff Consultant   jcrogers@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Sanders, Steven A., M.S., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   sasanders@engsys.com  

Missouri

Sangdahl, G. Stanley, P.E.   Senior Consultant   gssangdahl@engsys.com  

Illinois

Schmidt, Frederick E., Ph.D., P.E., C.E.F.   Senior Managing Consultant   feschmidt@engsys.com  

Illinois

Slane, Jean H., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   jhslane@engsys.com  

Colorado

Smith, Jr., Kenneth M., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   kmsmith@engsys.com  

California

Sprague, James K., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Manager of Michigan Operations   jksprague@engsys.com  

Michigan

Stegemann, Jacob A.   Associate Consultant   jastegemann@engsys.com  

Michigan

Stern, Amber Rath, Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   arstern@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Stevenson, Michael E., Ph.D., P.E.   President, Principal & Chief Executive Officer   mestevenson@engsys.com  

Georgia

Stigge, Jason D.   Staff Consultant   jdstigge@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Uchneat, Suzanne F.   Associate Consultant   sfuchneat@engsys.com  

Georgia

Umberger, Pierce D., Ph.D.   Senior Staff Consultant   pdumberger@engsys.com  

Georgia

Van Bree, Michael P.   Senior Consultant   mpvanbree@engsys.com  

Illinois

Wagner, Jacob A., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   jawagner@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Wilkinson, John A., P.E.   Senior Consultant & Manager of Illinois Operations   jawilkinson@engsys.com  

Illinois

Winn, Robert C., Ph.D., P.E., FAIAA, FRAeS   Chairman of the Board, Principal & Director of Aviation   rcwinn@engsys.com  

Colorado