Intellectual Property

Kimberly K. Cameron, Ph.D., P.E.
Senior Consultant
Phone: (949) 540-7012
kkcameron@engsys.com

View Capability Sheet

ESI has assisted clients in many different aspects of intellectual property matters.  Our professional engineers and patent agents have experience across multiple practice areas and can work on matters all over the United States and globally.  The technical breadth and depth of ESI’s professional staff ensures quality, combined with efficiency, to its clients in IP matters.

  • Prior art research
  • Patentability - including novelty
  • Patent prosecution
  • Patent due-diligence
  • Claim construction
  • Reverse engineering
  • Design-around
  • Infringement analysis
  • Invalidity assessment - including obviousness and anticipation
  • Enablement and written description assessments
  • Functional aspects of design and trade dress
  • Trade secrets
  • Technical aspects of objective recklessness in willful infringement
  • Analysis - including animation of complex patent figures

Relative Experience

ESI has assisted clients with prior art searches in many different fields, including consumer products and electronics, biomedical devices, mechanical related devices, electronics, and polymers.  In some cases, the prior art search was done in conjunction with patent prosecu­tion to strengthen the patent.  Other times, the prior art searches were done in conjunction with litigation or anticipated litigation to help assess the validity of a patent.  ESI is able to leverage the expertise of its staff and search many non-traditional venues to find prior art that other parties may have overlooked.

With a patent agent on staff, ESI has assisted clients with prosecuting patents.  We have particular expertise in prepar­ing patents in mechanical, electrical, and the consumer electronics fields.  We can provide assistance through the entire process including valuation, patentability, and prosecution in front of the USPTO.

ESI has performed many infringement and invalidity analyses.  Extensive testing experience and laboratory facilities allow us to obtain difficult measurements that can prove key to an infringement analysis.  We are able to build custom test equipment tailored to the product at issue and have the capacity to handle and analyze large numbers of products.

ESI has extensive experience presenting the results of their analyses and tests in the courtroom setting.  We have provided testimony in depositions, hearings, trials, and arbitrations.

Professionals in This Area

Name

 

Title

 

Email

 

Location(s)

Baron, Richard P., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant & Manager of Dallas Operations   rpbaron@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Breen, Kevin C., P.E.   Principal & Director of Marine & Automotive Research   kevinbreen@engsys.com  

Florida

Cameron, Kimberly K., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   kkcameron@engsys.com  

California

Daum, Philip J., P.E.   Principal   pjdaum@engsys.com  

Illinois

Hayes, Michael D., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   mdhayes@engsys.com  

Georgia

Lewis, Mark A., M.E., P.E.   Senior Consultant   malewis@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Marsh, Laban M.   Staff Consultant   lmmarsh@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Novak, Gary J., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   gjnovak@engsys.com  

Illinois

Pettinger, Alfred M., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Mechanics   ampettinger@engsys.com  

California

Schmidt, Frederick E., Ph.D., P.E., C.E.F.   Senior Managing Consultant   feschmidt@engsys.com  

Illinois

Smith, Jr., Kenneth M., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   kmsmith@engsys.com  

California

Sprague, James K., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Manager of Michigan Operations   jksprague@engsys.com  

Michigan