Marine

Kevin C. Breen, P.E.
Principal & Director of Marine & Automotive Research
Phone: (239) 482-0500
kevinbreen@engsys.com

Gregory T. Davis, CMS, CFEI
Director of Marine Practice Group
Senior Managing Consultant
Phone: (630) 851-4566
gtdavis@engsys.com  

Marine Forensics
View Capability Sheet
 
Marine Research
View Capability Sheet

 

 

Highly Specialized Marine Experience

With ESI’s Marine Practice Group, you have access to focused technical expertise in naval architecture, marine engineering, marine fires, marine accident investigations, and marine products, executed at the highest level of industry, technical, and regulatory standards.  Whether your issue is recreational or commercial, inland or offshore, our consultants have the depth and breadth of industry knowledge and real world experience to deliver the technical answers you need to resolve pressing business issues.

Customer Focused Service

At ESI, we spend the time to build relationships and understand your business. Our clients include Fortune 500 companies, private businesses, law firms, government organizations, and individuals with projects of all sizes and levels of complexity. We are deeply involved in the marine and transportation industry, and our marine technical staff has participated in research projects for the American Boat and Yacht Council (ABYC), the U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) Office of Boating Safety, and the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA).  ESI has a nationwide footprint, with offices and inspection facilities near many major cities, and staff that can be rapidly deployed almost anywhere in the world.  For large complex cases, you'll be able to leverage a network of qualified consultants, including biomechanical, electrical, and materials engineers, with the knowledge, tools, and technology to deliver needed results. 

Well-Equipped Test Facilities

Our Florida offices (Fort Myers and Miami) include test/inspection facilities specifically designed for accident reconstruction, human factors evaluations, and product performance/safety testing related to recreational boating, cruise ship, and/or port operations.  With a private lake for testing, and convenient access to open gulf, bay, and ocean water, we offer testing opportunities on a year-round basis. Our test facilities are supported by experienced technicians and marine mechanics working on state-of-the-art instrumentation, data acquisition, testing, and photo/video equipment. 

Accident and Investigation

  • Marine Accident Investigation/Reconstruction
  • Engine Failures and Machinery Damage
  • Marine Fire/Explosion Investigation
  • Marine Salvage Engineering
  • Electrocution
  • Carbon Monoxide Poisoning
  • Repair Standards-of-Care
  • Recreational Vessel Operator Responsibilities
  • Navigational Rules Analysis
  • Crash Testing and Reconstruction
  • Materials Failure Analysis

Architecture and Design

  • Naval Architecture
  • Materials Evaluation
  • Design Analysis
  • Hydrostatic Stability Analysis

Risk and Compliance

  • Risk Analysis
  • Compliance Testing
  • Safety Audits
  • Marine Contract Dispute

Human Factors Testing

  • Human Factors Testing and Analysis
  • Marine Rigging and Equipment Handling Evaluation

Offshore Rigs and Platforms

  • Offshore Rigs and Platforms
  • Platform and Rig Placement - Stability and Failure Analysis
  • Energy Exploration, Production, and Offshore Practices and Operations

 

Professionals in This Area

Name

 

Title

 

Email

 

Location(s)

Athan, Timothy W., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   twathan@engsys.com  

Michigan

Bedsworth, Kevin D.   Senior Managing Consultant   kdbedsworth@engsys.com  

Florida

Breen, Casey   Senior Staff Consultant   cdbreen@engsys.com  

Florida

Breen, Kevin C., P.E.   Principal & Director of Marine & Automotive Research   kevinbreen@engsys.com  

Florida

Craddock, J. Roger, P.E.   Principal   roger@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Davis, Gregory T.   Senior Managing Consultant & Director of Marine Practice Group   gtdavis@engsys.com  

Illinois

Garber, Mitchell A., M.D., M.P.H., M.S.M.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   magarber@engsys.com  

Georgia

Godoy, Francisco J., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   fjgodoy@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Hineman, Mark A., P.E., C.W.I.   Senior Consultant   mahineman@engsys.com  

Illinois

Krupa, Jennifer L.   Staff Consultant   jlkrupa@engsys.com  

Florida

Lorenzo, Fernando, Ph.D., P.E.   Principal   fernando@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Miller, Aaron D., MSC, P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   admiller@engsys.com  

Florida

Scardino, Dennis J., P.E., CFI, CFEI, CFII, CVFI   Senior Managing Consultant and Manager of Houston Operations   dscardino@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Smith, Jr., Kenneth M., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   kmsmith@engsys.com  

California

Stevenson, Michael E., Ph.D., P.E.   President, Principal & Chief Executive Officer   mestevenson@engsys.com  

Georgia

Stigge, Jason D.   Staff Consultant   jdstigge@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Turner, Daniel J.   Senior Staff Consultant   djturner@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

van Poppel, Jon, P.E.   Senior Consultant   javanpoppel@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)