Safety Assessments and Risk Analysis

Erick H. Knox, Ph.D., P.E.
Principal & Director of Biomechanical & Safety Engineering
Phone: (630) 851-4566
ehknox@engsys.com

View Capability Sheet

The Safety Practice Group is trained and experienced in a wide range of safety related issues. The capabilities of our safety division encompass accident prevention and forensic assignments for both products and environments, including analysis of the man/machine interface and system safety analyses to reduce and control hazards and demonstrate compliance with federal, state, local, and voluntary codes and standards. We also conduct evaluations of safety signs, as well as safety information on products and product literature.

Members have numerous certifications in residential, municipal, industrial, plant, and on/off-shore sites. We are involved in relevant standards development committees and subcommittees and take an active leadership role in key and relevant areas.

The safety group members come from a variety of disciplines and industry experiences, such as electrical, chemical, environmental, biomechanical, fire and explosion, automotive, aviation, process industry, 30B6, product design, manufacturing, etc. Combined with the educational experience and certifications, we have the technical and hands-on experience to better address the key safety areas of any incident situation as it relates to human interaction with environmental elements. In turn, this allows us to be a better partner in discussing the various aspects of the hierarchy such as labeling, guarding, or designing against possible incidents.

Areas of Specialization

  • Safety Regulation Compliance
  • Job Safety Analysis
  • Risk Analysis
  • Accident Prevention Analyses
  • Accident Investigation and Reconstruction
  • Construction Site Safety

Professionals in This Area

Name

 

Title

 

Email

 

Location(s)

Ahearn, David L., P.E.   Senior Consultant   dlahearn@engsys.com  

Georgia

Bonanti, Christopher J., M.Eng   Senior Managing Consultant   cjbonanti@engsys.com  

District of Columbia

Bouldin, Peter C.   Senior Staff Consultant   pcbouldin@engsys.com  

Illinois

Breen, Kevin C., P.E.   Principal & Director of Marine & Automotive Research   kevinbreen@engsys.com  

Florida

Brickman, Dennis B., P.E.   Principal   dbbrickman@engsys.com  

Illinois

Cameron, Kimberly K., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   kkcameron@engsys.com  

California

Craddock, Michael B., CFI   Senior Consultant   michael@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Davis, Gregory T.   Senior Managing Consultant & Director of Marine Practice Group   gtdavis@engsys.com  

Illinois

Evans, Susan L., CIH, CSP, P.E.   Senior Consultant   slevans@engsys.com  

Washington

Fortenbaugh, Dave, Ph.D.   Staff Consultant   dmfortenbaugh@engsys.com  

Florida

Garber, Mitchell A., M.D., M.P.H., M.S.M.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   magarber@engsys.com  

Georgia

Gray, Amy E., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   aegray@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Hejzlar, Zdenek, Ph.D., CSP   Senior Managing Consultant   wesystems@engsys.com  

Florida

Holmes, Edward W., P.E.   Principal Emeritus, Co-Founder   ewholmes@engsys.com  

Illinois

Jordan, Jonathan G., P.E., CFEI   Senior Consultant   jgjordan@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Karosas, George V., P.E., CSP   Senior Consultant   gvkarosas@engsys.com  

Illinois

Kercsmar, Christopher C., P.E., LEED A.P.   Senior Consultant   cckercsmar@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Klosinski, Krista B., MSME, MScFS, CFEI   Staff Consultant   kbklosinski@engsys.com  

Colorado

Knox, Erick H., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Biomechanical & Safety Engineering   ehknox@engsys.com  

Illinois

Mathias, Anne, P.E.   Senior Consultant   acmathias@engsys.com  

Illinois

Pettinger, Alfred M., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Mechanics   ampettinger@engsys.com  

California

Sanders, Steven A., M.S., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   sasanders@engsys.com  

Missouri

Smith, Jr., Kenneth M., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   kmsmith@engsys.com  

California

Van Bree, Michael P.   Senior Consultant   mpvanbree@engsys.com  

Illinois

Verlaan, Derrek-Ian G., BS, CFEI   Staff Consultant   dgverlaan@engsys.com  

Florida