Railroad and Transit

Philip J. Daum, P.E.
Principal
Phone: (630) 851-4566
pjdaum@engsys.com

View Capability Sheet

ESI has been involved in numerous significant railroad related matters including the Baltimore tunnel incident, the Graniteville, South Carolina derailment, the Bogalusa, Louisiana tank car incident, and the industry’s analysis of side frame and bolster durability. ESI conducts extensive design analyses, root-cause failure investigations, as well as routine evaluations of components including rails, ties, wheels, axles, bearings, castings, draft equipment, and brakes.

Areas of Specialization

  • Derailment cause analysis
  • Crossing accident reconstruction
  • Passenger and transit safety
  • Biomechanical and human factors analysis
  • Product/process safety and reliability analyses
  • Civil/structural/bridge engineering assessments
  • Metallurgical, materials, and failure analyses
  • Vibration analyses - including whole-body
  • Locomotive propulsion and electrical systems
  • FELA and other personal injury investigations
  • Hazardous materials safety and dispersion analyses
  • Fire and explosion investigations

Relative Experience

ESI was retained to investigate the root cause of a release of dinitrogen tetroxide from a tank car that burst while on an industrial site in Bogalusa, Louisiana. A series of chemical reaction tests were conducted to demonstrate that a specific range in the concentration of acids, resulting from the mixing of the chemical with water, resulted in aggressive corrosion to the steel and other materials involved. ESI performed chemical tests and a detailed evaluation in order to establish the timing and nature of a long sequence of events.

As part of a larger effort to address rail car truck durability, ESI was hired to evaluate the effects of casting irregularities, such as linear defects and subsurface inclusions, on the damage tolerance of the railcar components. ESI performed stress analysis of bolsters and side frames provided by various manufacturers using finite element analysis (FEA) to evaluate the stress distribution in the critical areas where the bolsters were failing and to provide insight into the mechanics of the failures.

Professionals in This Area

Name

 

Title

 

Email

 

Location(s)

Abubakar, Nila, P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   nabubakar@engsys.com  

Georgia

Alexander, Dale E., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Materials   dealexander@engsys.com  

Illinois

Auflick, Jack L., Ph.D.   Senior Consultant   jlauflick@engsys.com  

Michigan

Baron, Richard P., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant & Manager of Dallas Operations   rpbaron@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Bigelow, Clifford C., P.E., CFEI   Senior Consultant & Manager of Missouri Operations   cbigelow@engsys.com  

Missouri

Bonanti, Christopher J., M.Eng   Senior Managing Consultant   cjbonanti@engsys.com  

District of Columbia

Brach, R. Matthew, Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   rmbrach@engsys.com  

Illinois

Daum, Philip J., P.E.   Principal   pjdaum@engsys.com  

Illinois

Domel, August W., Ph.D., J.D., P.E., S.E.   Principal   awdomel@engsys.com  

Illinois

Fischer, Chad R., Ph.D., P.E., S.E.   Principal & Director of Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering   crfischer@engsys.com  

Illinois

Garber, Mitchell A., M.D., M.P.H., M.S.M.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   magarber@engsys.com  

Georgia

Grzetic, Joseph F.   Senior Staff Consultant & Facilities Manager   jfgrzetic@engsys.com  

Illinois

Hassebrock, Joel D.   Associate Staff Consultant   jdhassebrock@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Hayes, Michael D., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   mdhayes@engsys.com  

Georgia

Hejzlar, Zdenek, Ph.D., CSP   Senior Managing Consultant   wesystems@engsys.com  

Florida

Hineman, Mark A., P.E., C.W.I.   Senior Consultant   mahineman@engsys.com  

Illinois

Iwand, Hans C., P.E.   Principal   hciwand@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Karosas, George V., P.E., CSP   Senior Consultant   gvkarosas@engsys.com  

Illinois

Kenney, Robert, P.E.   Principal   rnkenney@engsys.com  

Georgia

Knox, Erick H., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Biomechanical & Safety Engineering   ehknox@engsys.com  

Illinois

Mathias, Anne, P.E.   Senior Consultant   acmathias@engsys.com  

Illinois

McDougall, Jeffrey, P.E.   Senior Consultant & Manager of Georgia Operations   jlmcdougall@engsys.com  

Georgia

Novak, Gary J., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   gjnovak@engsys.com  

Illinois

Pettinger, Alfred M., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Mechanics   ampettinger@engsys.com  

California

Shah, Anand R., M.S., M.B.A., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   arshah@engsys.com  

Illinois

Smith, Steven J.   Senior Technologist   sjsmith@engsys.com  

Illinois

Smolka, James C., M.S., P.E., CFEI   Senior Staff Consultant   jcsmolka@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Stevenson, Michael E., Ph.D., P.E.   President, Principal & Chief Executive Officer   mestevenson@engsys.com  

Georgia

Stigge, Jason D.   Staff Consultant   jdstigge@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Stone, Daniel H.   Senior Consultant   dhstone@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Wagner, Jacob A., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   jawagner@engsys.com  

Nebraska