Process and Machinery

Fernando Lorenzo, Ph.D., P.E
Principal
Phone: (281) 448-6060
fernando@engsys.com

View Capability Sheet

For many years, ESI has provided the insurance industry, and their clients and legal partners, with specialized technical assistance for incidents in the Process and Machinery area. This includes such general areas as utility and industrial power generation, petrochemical processing, and other heavy industrial engineering and manufacturing concerns.

ESI is comprised of a closely integrated, multidisciplinary engineering group with strong backgrounds in such areas as fluid mechanics, heat and mass transfer, thermodynamics, mechanical design, instrumentation and control, stress analysis, vibration and modal analysis, in addition to the engineering disciplines necessary to lead this field.

This expertise comes from our formal education and experience in such complimentary disciplines and specialty areas as Chemical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Engineering, Civil/Structural Engineering, and Fire and Explosion fields, in addition to prior job responsibilities in the various industries we are called on to provide our technical expertise. The ESI team approach is one of assigning the right person, or group of people, to any project or task, in order to efficiently resolve the issue. This places ESI on the top of many first-response lists in many of these industries.

We are active in cases involving such clients as refineries (all types), power generation and co-generation companies, chemical plants, oil field operations, sugar mills, boilers and power boilers, gas and steam turbines, diesel power generation, marine machinery, oil and gas separation, compression and transmission, LNG plants, cement plants, and the like.

Areas of Specialization

  • Chemical Manufacturing
  • Compressor Stations
  • Explosion, Fire, and Toxic Chemical Safety Programs
  • Pressure Vessels and Storage Tanks
  • Cryogenic Systems
  • Electricity Generators, Transformers, and Substations
  • Gas Dispersion Modeling
  • Large Fossil Fueled Utility and Industrial Boilers
  • Natural Gas and Oil Pipelines
  • NORM (Naturally Occurring Radioactive Materials)
  • Offshore Oil and Gas Platforms
  • Turbo Machinery
  • Production Facilities
  • Oil Refining
  • Storage Tanks
  • Drilling Rigs
  • Primary Metal Mills
  • Process Safety Systems
  • Nuclear Commercial, Defense Reactors, and Steam Generators
  • Pipelines and Field Gathering Systems

Professionals in This Area

Name

 

Title

 

Email

 

Location(s)

Afshan, Shireen, Ph.D.   Staff Consultant   safshan@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Bajzek, Thomas J., P.E., CFEI   Principal & Director of Electrical Engineering   tjbajzek@engsys.com  

Illinois

Baron, Richard P., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant & Manager of Dallas Operations   rpbaron@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Cameron, Kimberly K., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   kkcameron@engsys.com  

California

Craddock, J. Roger, P.E.   Principal   roger@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Godoy, Francisco J., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   fjgodoy@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Gray, Amy E., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   aegray@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Hanks, Michael L., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   mlhanks@engsys.com  

Florida, Georgia

Lewis, Mark A., M.E., P.E.   Senior Consultant   malewis@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Lorenzo, Fernando, Ph.D., P.E.   Principal   fernando@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Mitolo, Massimo A., Ph.D., P.E., P.Eng.   Senior Consultant   mamitolo@engsys.com  

California

Pettinger, Alfred M., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Mechanics   ampettinger@engsys.com  

California

Pratt, Michael D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Fire and Explosions   mdpratt@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Rogers, Gary R., P.E.   Principal & Manager of North Carolina Operations   grrogers@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Rogers, Joshua C.   Staff Consultant   jcrogers@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Scardino, Dennis J., P.E., CFI, CFEI, CFII, CVFI   Senior Managing Consultant and Manager of Houston Operations   dscardino@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Smith, Jr., Kenneth M., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   kmsmith@engsys.com  

California

Smolka, James C., M.S., P.E., CFEI   Senior Staff Consultant   jcsmolka@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Stigge, Jason D.   Staff Consultant   jdstigge@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Wagner, Jacob A., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   jawagner@engsys.com  

Nebraska