Mechanics and Materials

Dale E. Alexander, Ph.D., P.E.
Principal & Director of Mechanics & Materials
Phone: (630) 851-4566
dealexander@engsys.com

View Capability Sheet

The ESI Mechanics and Materials Practice Group touches and works in almost every industry, discipline, and incident area, as most projects involve some type of material, or interaction with a material, or mechanical device. The group includes over 25 core materials or mechanical engineers, with roughly 70 of our staff involved in mechanical or materials-related projects annually. As such, we have solid group representation in all of our offices across the country, making it easy to deploy an engineer to an incident location. The depth of our group provides clients with a broad range of consultant experience, laboratory, and technical analysis capability.

Our varying range of consultant experience positions us to accommodate the varying scales of engagements from smaller insurance claims to complex, multiple scope claims and litigation requiring different disciplines and backgrounds, efficiently resolving the issues of the project. Members integrate well with other practices and expertise across the company, beneficially leveraging the multidisciplinary approach as needed for client benefit.

We have extensive lab and inspection areas in all of our larger offices across the country, with three offering state-of-the-art scanning electron microscopes (SEMs), and many with enhanced technical capabilities. These material and mechanical lab capabilities include optical microscopy, metallography, hardness testing, scanning electron microscopy with elemental analysis capability, and fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FTIR). The availability of these capabilities, at ready, travel-accessible locations across the country, has benefited clients’ needs for hosting joint failure analysis inspections.

The practice also employs considerable technical analysis capabilities including solid modeling, finite element stress and thermal analyses, dispersion modeling, and fatigue and fracture mechanics analyses.

Selected areas of expertise and services include:

  • Scanning Electron Microscopy (SEM)
  • Chemical Analysis/Microanalysis by EDS
  • Destructive and Non-Destructive Testing
  • Materials Analysis (including selection and economic comparisons)
  • Process Evaluations (e.g., welding, heat treating, brazing, forging, casting, etc.)
  • Heat Transfer and Thermodynamics (heat exchangers, HVAC, fire suppression systems, etc.)
  • Metallography
  • Borescope Examination
  • Hardness Testing
  • Corrosion Evaluation
  • Static, Dynamic, and Strength of Materials
  • Fatigue and Fracture Mechanics
  • Modeling
  • Simulation of Mechanisms
  • Concretes and Cementitious Materials

Professionals in This Area

Name

 

Title

 

Email

 

Location(s)

Afshan, Shireen, Ph.D.   Staff Consultant   safshan@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

Ahearn, David L., P.E.   Senior Consultant   dlahearn@engsys.com  

Georgia

Alexander, Dale E., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Materials   dealexander@engsys.com  

Illinois

Babcock, Jason R., Ph.D.   Senior Consultant   jrbabcock@engsys.com  

Illinois

Baron, Richard P., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant & Manager of Dallas Operations   rpbaron@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Bigelow, Clifford C., P.E., CFEI   Senior Consultant & Manager of Missouri Operations   cbigelow@engsys.com  

Missouri

Cameron, Kimberly K., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   kkcameron@engsys.com  

California

Cline, Keith G., P.E.   Senior Consultant & Manager of Washington Operations   kgcline@engsys.com  

Washington

Daum, Philip J., P.E.   Principal   pjdaum@engsys.com  

Illinois

Duvall, Donald E., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   deduvall@engsys.com  

Illinois

Edwards, Dale B., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   dbedwards@engsys.com  

Illinois

Ernst, Gary (Mike) M.   Senior Technologist   gmernst@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Fitz, Michael M., P.E., CFEI, CFII, CFPS   Senior Managing Consultant   mmfitz@engsys.com  

Washington

Giesa, Ashley M., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   amgiesa@engsys.com  

Washington

Gray, Amy E., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   aegray@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Hassebrock, Joel D.   Associate Staff Consultant   jdhassebrock@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Hayes, Michael D., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   mdhayes@engsys.com  

Georgia

Hineman, Mark A., P.E., C.W.I.   Senior Consultant   mahineman@engsys.com  

Illinois

Iwand, Hans C., P.E.   Principal   hciwand@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Kenner, Matthew T., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   mtkenner@engsys.com  

Georgia

Kuehn, Jeffrey W., P.E.   Senior Consultant   jwkuehn@engsys.com  

Missouri

Lewis, Mark A., M.E., P.E.   Senior Consultant   malewis@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Lorenzo, Fernando, Ph.D., P.E.   Principal   fernando@engsys.com  

Texas (Houston)

McDougall, Jeffrey, P.E.   Senior Consultant & Manager of Georgia Operations   jlmcdougall@engsys.com  

Georgia

Novak, Gary J., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   gjnovak@engsys.com  

Illinois

Parrington, Ronald J., P.E., FASM   Senior Managing Consultant & Director of Industrial Services   rjparrington@engsys.com  

Illinois

Pettinger, Alfred M., Ph.D., P.E.   Principal & Director of Mechanics   ampettinger@engsys.com  

California

Roberts, Julius M.   Senior Staff Consultant   jmroberts@engsys.com  

Michigan

Rogers, Joshua C.   Staff Consultant   jcrogers@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Royall, Benjamin   Senior Technologist   baroyall@engsys.com  

Colorado

Sanders, Steven A., M.S., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   sasanders@engsys.com  

Missouri

Schmidt, Frederick E., Ph.D., P.E., C.E.F.   Senior Managing Consultant   feschmidt@engsys.com  

Illinois

Shah, Anand R., M.S., M.B.A., P.E.   Senior Managing Consultant   arshah@engsys.com  

Illinois

Smith, Casey   Senior Technologist   cmsmith@engsys.com  

Texas (Dallas)

Sohn, Sangjoon "Jay", Ph.D.   Senior Consultant   jsohn@engsys.com  

Illinois

Stern, Amber Rath, Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   arstern@engsys.com  

North Carolina

Stevenson, Michael E., Ph.D., P.E.   President, Principal & Chief Executive Officer   mestevenson@engsys.com  

Georgia

Stigge, Jason D.   Staff Consultant   jdstigge@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Stone, Daniel H.   Senior Consultant   dhstone@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Uchneat, Suzanne F.   Associate Consultant   sfuchneat@engsys.com  

Georgia

Umberger, Pierce D., Ph.D.   Senior Staff Consultant   pdumberger@engsys.com  

Georgia

Wagner, Jacob A., P.E.   Senior Staff Consultant   jawagner@engsys.com  

Nebraska

Weishaupt, Eric R., Ph.D., P.E.   Senior Consultant   erweishaupt@engsys.com  

Michigan

Wilkinson, John A., P.E.   Senior Consultant & Manager of Illinois Operations   jawilkinson@engsys.com  

Illinois

Wright, Ellen E., Ph.D.   Staff Consultant   eewright@engsys.com  

Illinois